Tags

, , , , , , ,

This post will be mostly images with captions. Suffice it is to say, this is a one storey building. Cape Cod http://www.capecod.ca/ shipped me mostly 14′ western lodgepole pine, pre-finished siding. There were some 12′ & 16’ers too. They knew it was a one storey bldg. Wikipedia tells the tale, that these trees grow to be 130′ – 160′ tall! Cape Cod wanted a 15% up-charge for a customer to specify lengths. Come on guys, you can do better than this! As I began cutting the nearly 8′ lengths, I quickly began accumulating 6’ers along the wall. What to do???

I hastily got down on my knees. No, no I did not pray. Our saint Jellaludin of Rum, commonly known as Rumi teaches: “Prayer is not enough. You must do something.” I began counting how many 8′ lengths they has shipped me. I was 5 pieces short of going ’round the entire bldg. circumference with one-piece vertical siding. I was not concerned with the short pieces above and below the windows.

The reason I chose to implement vertical siding in the first place, is that I have a distaste for horizontal siding with continuous endbutts. It looks so completely unfinished and without imagination to the eye of a has-been cabinetmaker. You see , I don’t take myself too seriously. On the other hand, I take mySelf very seriously. Therein lies the mystery of spirituality and walking between both worlds.

Yes, one could create sectional quadrants. However, this bldg is 107′ short. The long and the short of it all, is that vertical siding ensures that One’s eye is not drawn to the length as much. So, with my continuous creative energy and active imagination, the situation called for a design to use up some of the 6’ers. Eh voilá. Enjoy as ‘they’ say.

Lay of the land-ing.

Lay of the land~ing.

4 'facets' cut, end coated and numbered, await the setting

4 ‘facets’ cut, end coated and numbered, await the setting

the setting . . . with double blocking to receive each 'facet'

the setting . . . with double blocking to receive each ‘facet’

the lower surround, flashed: siding's all about H2O

the lower surround, flashed: siding’s all about H2O

first facet, paying attention to the correct overlap for H2O drainage

first facet, paying attention to the correct overlap for H2O drainage

(backside) No, no, the boards! Using screws to change colour and move up the wall.

(backside) No, no, the boards! Using screws to change colour and move up the wall.

Second quadrant or 'facet'.  Notice, I'm still employing the spacers to create  3/32" or 2.5mm expansion gap, for all those converted to metric.

Second quadrant or ‘facet’. Notice, I’m still employing the spacers to create 3/32″ or 2.5mm expansion gap, for all those converted to metric.

Third 'facet' with attention to overlap, so H2O sheds downward and out of the picture.

Third ‘facet’ with attention to overlap, so H2O sheds downward and out of the picture.

Stove drying, as it's hovering near freezing, both inside and out.  The latex endcoat needs to dry.

Stove drying, as it’s hovering near freezing, both inside and out. The latex end-coat needs to dry.

A Diamond in the rough. 12' wide X 6' high . . . or 3.6M X 1.8M.

A Diamond in the rough. 12′ wide X 6′ high . . . or 3.6M X 1.8M.

The siding is too dry and hard.  It still splits if I cheat and do not pre-drill.

The siding is too dry and hard. It still splits if I cheat and do not pre-drill.

The finished devertisimo.

The finished devertisimo.

The completed west wall.

The completed west wall.

The idea for the narrow 2-1/2″ frieze or trim, was to suggest a hint or outline of green to match the hemlocks in the background forest. It is their colour in spring. This time of year, the hemlock foliage is a much darker green, as the lack of sunlight, with no need to grow, seems to cut back on the level of chlorophyll. Although I don’t maintain that I am any dendrologist. Now before you go scurrying to Wikipedia, a denrologist is a person who studies trees.

I am uncertain if this is the largest diamond in the world, or if it qualifies for The Guinness Book of World Records. “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn!” Blessings Rhett.

I Am, John Otvos aka jayöh.

